The Eighth War of Religion: la guerre des Trois Henri

The Eighth War of Religion, which will continue in some form until the 1598 Edict of Nantes, begins in the summer of 1587 with mounting tensions over questions of succession and intervention in similar conflicts in England and the Netherlands. War resumes in France between three factions, each led by a man named Henri: the royalists and Politiques, led by Henri III; Protestants, led by Henri de Navarre and supported by Elizabeth I of England; and the Catholic Ligue, led by Henri, duke of Guise, and supported by Phillip II of Spain.